Farmington Republican Town Committee Announces Municipal Slate

with Strong Community Connections 

Farmington, July 24, 2019: On Tuesday evening, July 23, the Farmington Republican Town Committee held its nominating caucus to select candidates for the November municipal election.

The committee members, who are elected for two year terms by registered Republicans in Farmington, unanimously approved a uniquely qualified and committed slate of candidates. This outstanding slate offers all residents of Farmington individuals who are:

  • experts and leaders in their fields,
  • strongly tied to the Farmington community, and
  • dedicated to volunteer service.

“Connected communities are strong communities,” said Mike Clark, Chair of the Farmington RTC. “Our candidates offer Farmington residents the best of community connections that tie us all together. We are so glad to introduce these candidates, who will work for all of Farmington to ensure continued vibrancy, enhanced efficiency in delivering outstanding services, and sustainable growth and success.”

Here are the candidates:

C.J. Thomas, Town Council Chair

The ticket is led by current Town Council Member C.J. Thomas, who has served on the Council for three terms. Included in his 16-year history of community engagement are volunteer activities with Farmington Village Green and Library Association, Bicycle Friendly Farmington, St. Patrick Church, and 12 years of coaching for Farmington Recreation.

Peter Mastrobattista, Town Council, District 1

A third-generation Farmington resident, business owner, and former two-term Council Member, Peter has served Farmington for more than 20 years as a volunteer firefighter, with eight years as Deputy and Assistant Chief.

Joe Capodiferro, Town Council, District 1

A realtor and retired K-9 Officer with the Farmington Police Department, “Officer Joe” is known throughout town for the countless hours spent in schools and volunteering to support civic organizations including Farmington Community Chest, UNICO, and Amy’s Angels.

Gary Palumbo, Town Council, District 2

A former Town Council and Zoning Board of Appeals Member, Gary owns a small business in Farmington and has a decades-long service record in town that includes the Knights of Columbus, the Library Board, and continuous support of Farmington school, public safety, and civic organizations.

Christopher Fagan, Town Council, District 2

An attorney and the current Chair of the Farmington Board of Education, Chris has shown relentless commitment to ensuring the success of our schools and our students.


Board of Education

The Board of Education candidates will be led by current Vice Chair, Christine Arnold, who will be seeking a second term. Sylvie Binette, FHS basketball booster chair and owner of the Carrier Academy of Learning will also be running, along with Sarah Healey, a third-generation Farmington resident, law firm partner, and involved preschool parent.


Town Planning and Zoning

Current TPZ Members Mike Grabulis and Mindy Ogan are running for re-election along with Patrick Carrier.

Mike Koster and Keith Vibert are candidates for the alternate slots.


Zoning Board of Appeals

Current ZBA Members Kerry Callahan and Ron Llewellyn are running for re-election along with John Brockelman and Steven Walsh as alternates.


Board of Assessment Appeals

John Simoneau is running for re-election as the candidate for Board of Assessment Appeals.



Current Constables, Geno Avenoso and Diane Rogers will be running for re-election. 


Gerry Haviland, former Town Council Chair, summarized the unique strengths of this slate. “These candidates all envision and can deliver on excellence in service, excellence in education, excellence in financial management, excellence in public safety, and excellence in infrastructure management,” he said. “This is the legacy of decades of Republican leadership, and the best for the future of Farmington.”

BilerChildrenLeg og SpilAutobranchen